FIFA World Cup series: insight into Germany

Aakash Rao
2 min readNov 15, 2022

--

Welcome back to my blog, and today I will be giving you an insight into the Germany team which will be heading for the World Cup. Sadly I will not be watching Die Roten live, but I still have high hopes for them. Their squad looks far better than the one they had in 2018, so we could see them go deep into the tournament. Now, onto the article.

WC matches (group stage): 23 Nov vs Japan, 27 Nov vs Spain and 1 Dec vs Costa Rica.

Predictions

Germany do not have a easy group by far, but I think they will top the group. I foresee a 2–0 win against Japan, a highly exciting triumph against Spain with a scoreline of 3–2, and a thumping of Costa Rica by 4 goals to none. This group could end up being quite unpredictable, but I feel Germany should top it. As for their final position, while they could realistically reach the final, I think they get knocked out in the quarter finals.

History

Germany are the second most successful team in the World Cup, winning 4 World Cups (most recently in 2014) and finishing second in 4 more. Historically, Germany are always in the mix for the World Cup and hopefully they put up a good fight this time around. Hansi Flick is a top manager, and he will look forward to perhaps leading them to yet another final to match Brazil’s total of 5.

Key players

Manuel Neuer will continue to be a vital part of Germany, despite his age, while another Bayern veteran, Thomas Muller will also play an important part. Mario Gotze could also be a potential wildcard option, while youngsters Jamal Musiala could start ahead of Sane or Gnabry, given his impressive form. Finally, Nico Schlotterbeck could use this World Cup to announce himself to the world.

Predicted line-up (4–2–3–1)

GK: Manuel Neuer

Defence: Kehrer, Sule, Schlotterbeck, Raum

Midfield: Kimmich, Goretzka

Attack: Musiala, Muller, Gnabry, Havertz

That’s all for this article, thank you all for reading it and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Do look forward to the next part of this series focusing on Argentina and then Portugal ( I know, I finished Germany first so I released it first; probably will release a kit review ahead of these two articles as well), and till next time, adios!

--

--

Aakash Rao

An avid Manchester United fan and football/music blogger!